

The 9th KONA Award

The 9th KONA Award sponsored by Hosokawa Powder Technology Foundation and given to the scientists or groups who have achieved excellence in the researches related to the basic powder technology, was presented to Professor Kunio Shinohara of Hokkaido University and also to Professor Akihisa Inoue and Associate Professor Yoshihito Kawamura* of Tohoku University by Masuo Hosokawa, President of the Foundation on January 24, 2002 at the R&D Center of Hosokawa Micron Corporation in Hirakata.

Prof. Shinohara's research achievements are related to comprehensive studies on the effect of particle characteristics to the various phenomena of particles.

The research achievements in co-operation of Prof. Inoue and Associate Prof. Kawamura are related to the wide scope subjects on the amorphous alloy powders.

In these studies three Professors obtained epochmaking results.

* Since December 2000 Kumamoto University





KONA No.19 (2001) 275